

St John's Gosport C of E (VA) Primary School

Grove Road, Gosport, Hampshire PO12 4JH www.st-johns-gosport.hants.sch.uk adminoffice@st-johns-gosport.hants.sch.uk

Headteacher: Mr Lyndon Strong

Deputy Headteacher: Mrs Carolyn Wilkinson Telephone: 02392 582404

Senior Finance Officer: Miss Helen Wetherick

PSQM Press Release

St John's Gosport C of E Primary School Awarded Primary Science Quality Mark

In April 2021 334 Primary Science Quality Marks have been awarded to infant, junior, primary, middle and special schools to celebrate their commitment to excellence in science teaching and learning. So far, since its national launch in 2010, over 4000 schools across the UK have achieved a prestigious Primary Science Quality Mark.

The Primary School Quality Mark programme ensures effective leadership of science, enables schools to work together to share good practice and is supported by professional development led by local experts. It encourages teacher autonomy and innovation while at the same time offering a clear framework for development in science subject leadership, teaching and learning. Schools that achieve PSQM demonstrate commitment and expertise in science leadership, teaching and learning.

The Primary Science Quality Mark is led by the University of Hertfordshire, School of Education in collaboration with the Primary Science Teaching Trust.

Associate Professor Jane Turner, PSQM National Director said: "There was never a more important time for primary children to have a high-quality science education. The Coronavirus Pandemic has made everyone aware of the impact of science on our daily lives. Primary schools have an important role to ensure that children understand how science works and keeps us healthy and safe. Schools that have achieved a Primary Science Quality Mark have





St John's Gosport C of E (VA) Primary School

Grove Road, Gosport, Hampshire PO12 4JH www.st-johns-gosport.hants.sch.uk adminoffice@st-johns-gosport.hants.sch.uk

Headteacher: Mr Lyndon Strong

Deputy Headteacher: Mrs Carolyn Wilkinson Telephone: 02392 582404

Senior Finance Officer: Miss Helen Wetherick

demonstrated a significant commitment to science teaching and learning, even at this challenging time for schools. The profile and quality of science in each awarded school is very high. Children are engaging with great science both in and outside the classroom, developing positive attitudes towards science as well as secure scientific understanding and skills. Science subject leaders, their colleagues, head teachers, children, parents and governors should be very proud."

For more information, please contact:

Associate Professor Jane Turner PSQM Director:

j.turner@herts.ac.uk

01707 28 1036 07792 395015

Notes to Editor

Primary Science Quality Mark (PSQM) is the only national award scheme to develop and celebrate the quality of science teaching and learning in primary schools. Schools achieve a PSQM through a year-long process of initial audit, followed by action and evidenced-based reflection. For more information please visit: www.psqm.org.uk

The University of Hertfordshire is the UK's leading business-facing university and an exemplar in the sector. It is innovative and enterprising and challenges individuals and organisations to excel. For more information please visit: www.herts.ac.uk/

The Primary Science Teaching Trust (formerly the AstraZeneca Science Teaching Trust) was created by Trust Deed in April 1997, to provide financial assistance to help improve the learning and teaching of science in the UK. Our objective is to help improve the education of children and young people in science. For more information, please visit: https://pstt.org.uk/

